Michael wins best in track at the Euromicro DSD/SEAA 2016 conference

A recently presented by Dr Michael Opoku-Agyeman was award best in track at the Euromicro DSD/SEAA 2016 conference .

Zong, W., Wang, L., Xu, Q. and Opoku Agyeman, M. (2016) SlideAcross: a low-latency adaptive router for chip multi-processor.In: Proceedings of Euromicro DSD/SEAA 2016. Cyprus: IEEE.

The non-uniform distributed traffic of chip multiprocessor (CMP) demands an on-chip communication infrastructure which is able to avoid congestion under high traffic conditions while possessing minimal pipeline delay at low load conditions. In this paper, we propose a low-latency adaptive router with a low-complexity single-cycle bypassing mechanism to meet the communication needs of CMPs. This router transmits a flit using dimension-ordered routing (DoR) in the bypass datapath at low loads. When the output port required intra-dimension bypassing is not available, the packet is routed adaptively to avoid congestion. The router also has a simplified virtual channel allocation (VA) scheme that yields a nonspeculative low-latency pipeline. By combining the low-complexity bypassing technique together with adaptive routing, the proposed router architecture can achieve low-latency communication under various traffic loads. Simulation shows that proposed router can reduce applications’ execution time by 16.9% in average compared to low-latency router SWIFT

To read more go to SlideAcross: a low-latency adaptive router for chip multi-processor. 

All views and opinions are the author's and do not necessarily reflected those of any organisation they are associated with. Twitter: @scottturneruon